Redwood 2 Care Plan

Name Susan Barnett :                                                                                                                                                               Rio :

Mobile Phone care plan

Current Issue

Susan has been accessing a blog page via internet to which she has been breaching confidentiality by naming specific patients and staff.  Susan was informed of the seriousness of this incident, to which Susan expressed she will continue to utilise the blog. Due to this Susan (sic) phone has been placed in the safe and is accessible under supervision.  Due to the risk of her utilising the internet via her phone.

Aims and objectives:

– To be able to monitor Susan, whilst using her phone ensuring confidentiality isn’t breached.
– To help Susan appreciate the seriousness of confidentiality both, from staff and to staff.

Patients (sic) Objective:

– To have an understanding, and awareness of confidentiality.

Nursing Objective and treatment plan:

– To maintain safety of staff and patients
– To educate Susan of the importance of positive communication with her social world

– For Susan to use her phone supervised by staff.
– For Susan’s phone to be stored in the safe
– to be reviewed in weekly review on 25/06/12

Date to be reviewed: weekly in review

(young female staff nurse and young male student named as signatories)
Date: 22/06/12
Signed: (by me)

End of document.

I was called into an immediate confrontation in the staff office as soon as I walked through the door after the leave in which I wrote my last post.  What this document does not say is that, because they had found and read my blog (at least bits) without me having given them details of its name or whereabouts – and contrary to the insistence of someone, it cannot be found just by looking up details for Highbury Hospital; I tried that myself and gave up looking for anything from my blog after page 6 of the search, though it came up immediately in the first 2 or 3 results when I entered a qualifier – They also took all my leave away, so I was confined to the ward over the weekend until I was reviewed on the following Monday.  Before I signed it – I didn’t consider if I had an option given the pressure and apparent anger in the room, where they told me their complaint/concern was going higher – I made all the notes on it which I had raised in conversation, that as someone who is not a staff member I am not bound to recognise or abide by a duty of confidentiality, I have not entered into a willing contract with them – ever over the last 16 years.  I pointed out that my phone and blog were separate and that my phone was used only for calls which were supposed to be private.  I wrote I hadn’t named patients – I think I have been careful not to.  I also wrote at the bottom “I believe this is an illegal restriction, provocation intimidation (sic lack of ‘and’) and the staff will know that to be true”.

I had a reasonable weekend with 2 of the staff in particular, and I am not sure why the next decision was made, but on the Monday I was discharged from my section and made informal, thus having as much leave as I choose to take (which often works out to be less than I would have taken when I had a restricted allocation).  I also, from Monday, started refusing my medication, and until today I don’t think I have handled myself badly, but now I have been angry at a really outrageous and out of order (so I believe) staff member, and before that I was expressing distress to a female staff member who knows what he is like, and though he seemed to me to be imposing himself on my speech and conversation from the office without actual involvement, she received everything I said in silence until one imposition too many made me snap at him, saying he was out of order and my anger was not.  This, however, makes me feel afraid of what the consequences of that might be, and that is how many of them get away with so much bad behaviour and unprofessionalism.  There is sometimes a psychological subliminality to what they do, resulting in stronger feelings than if it was up front, in my opinion, which is lay.  IE the ordinary person who experiences it.

More to follow.

